Beyond The Code Student Book 2

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
-Beyond The Code Student Book 2

Beyond the Code Book Two

The Beyond the Code series accompanies the first four books of the Explode the Code series (each sold-separately). This workbook will help students develop comprehension and thinking skills by reading stories that follow the same phonetic structure as Explode the Code, providing kids with a familiar, on-level reading experience. Each chapter begins with writing and spelling activities that introduce new sight words and teach phonetic patterns; these are followed by charmingly illustrated stories, and conclude with a set of questions and exercises that give students the opportunity to add their own drawings while developing their understanding of the story and encouraging their reasoning abilities. Instructions are simple and written directly to the student, allowing for independent work.

Beyond the Code Book 2 aligns with Explode the Code Book 2 and addresses the following skills through seven stories ( PlumThe Camp OutGreg Can't SleepMaxGood, Bad, or Best?Stand up for Lemonade, and Lost in the City): 

  • Spelling patterns 
  • Sight words
  • Vocabulary development
  • Sequencing
  • Categorizing
  • Following directions
  • Critical thinking
  • Story recall
  • Inferential thinking
  • Rhyming words
  • Multi-syllabic words
  • Matching sentences to pictures

    Grades 2-3. 96 non-reproducible pages, softcover consumable workbook.



Product Information

Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 96
Vendor: Educators Publishing Service
Publication Date: 2000
Dimensions: 11 X 8.5 X .25 (inches)
ISBN: 0838824021
ISBN-13: 9780838824023
Series: Explode the Code


Explode the Code Series Scope and Sequence

(The 1/2 workbooks in the series are for reinforcement and extra practice.)

Get Ready for the Code: consonants b, f, m, k, r, and t.

Get Set for the Code: consonants p,j,h,s,n, and d.

Go for the Code: consonants c,l,g,w,y,v,z,q, and x.

Workbook 1 introduces students to the sounds of short vowels. The exercises begin with short a and then follow with short i, short u, short e, and short o. Students practice blending sounds to read and write CVC words. 

Workbook 2 introduces students to the sounds of initial and final consonant blends. The exercises begin with beginning l blends and progress through to final blends. Students practice blending sounds to read and write one-syllable words.

Workbook 3 begins with words that present y as a vowel, then progress to long vowels with silent e, and finally to consonant and vowel digraphs. Students practice blending sounds to read and write one-syllable words that include digraphs and long vowel sounds.

Workbook 4 introduces students to compound words, common endings, and syllable types. Students learn that compound words are made up of two smaller words that when put together make a word with a different meaning. They practice adding the endings –ful, -ing, -est, -ed, and -ness to make new words.

Workbook 5 introduces students to the word endings -ed and -ey, word families including all-alk, old-olt-oll, ild-ind, the digraph qu, and 3-letter blends. Students practice blending sounds to read and write multisyllabic words.

Workbook 6 introduces students to the r-controlled vowels, silent letters (-igh), and vowel diphthongs. Students practice blending sounds to read and write multisyllabic words.

Workbook 7 introduces students to the sounds of soft c and g, silent consonant patterns such as -dge, -mb, kn, wr, and silent t and silent h words. In addition, this book teaches the sounds of ear, ei, eigh, and ph words. Students practice blending sounds to read and write multisyllabic words and phrases.

Workbook 8 introduces students to more complex morphemic units including suffixes and irregular endings. Students combine word parts to create multisyllabic words and increase their vocabulary by learning the meanings of common suffixes and endings. All workbooks have several review lessons and a posttest. Reinforcement and extra practice is available in “half workbooks” that correspond with workbooks 1-6!

Beyond The Code Grades 2-4

A four-book series that helps students develop important comprehension and thinking skills at the earliest level. The books contain charmingly illustrated stories with exercises following the same phonetic structure as the Explode The Code series.